Posted in Homeschool Information

A Homeschooler’s Schedule

Many people assume that a Homeschooler’s daily and yearly schedule must be the same as the local school’s.  If the local public school’s day starts at 9am and ends at 2pm, and runs from September through June, they assume that homeschoolers must adhere to the same schedule.  The truth is, that a Homeschooler’s Schedule varies widely from home to home.  Some homeschoolers do work on school for 5-6 hours per day, while others school only in the morning, only the afternoon, or even only in the evening when their parents get home from work.  Some homeschoolers work on schoolwork from Monday-Friday, some Monday-Thursday, and some include the weekends.  While a September through May or June schedule is typical, some homeschoolers opt to homeschool year-round.

Here in our homeschool, we tend to follow a September through June schedule much like the public school schedule.  However, we are flexible and often will take a week off around our own activities.  For instance, when both my children were in a week-long run of shows for a musical last year, we took the week off.  We get most of our homeschool work done Monday through Thursday, with Friday afternoons at the library being a time to get together with some other homeschoolers and friends, do some crafts and/or tie up some homeschool loose ends.  We also find that, without 20 or 30 children in a classroom, we get a lot more done in less time per day.  As a result, our homeschooling is usually done for the day around noon or 1pm.  This leaves a lot of time for my children to explore their own interests, read, practice their dance or drama, or play outside.

Whatever the schedule being followed, most homeschoolers will tell you that homeschooling is a way of life.  Even when homeschooling has technically finished for the day or for the week, the children will keep on learning, and even excitedly come to their parents to show them what they’ve learned in those “off hours” 🙂

Love, Luck &


Kimberly is a homeschooling mother of two living with her dear husband of over 25 years in Halifax, Nova Scotia. She works from home as a homeschool coach and offers OBM, writing, editing, social media, and tech services. In her free time she likes to hand-spin, knit, read, volunteer in local theatre, and horseback ride.